Plants that Re-grow

 

Going Potty: My bok choy and celery

Going Potty: My bok choy and celery

I’ve been experimenting. No need to get your science hat on… Frugal woman that I am, I’m trying to regrow veggies from their original plant. Turns out, plants can live – and flourish – on nothing but love and fresh air. Actually, make that sunlight, water and fresh air.
So far, my attempts at regrowing celery, spring onions, lettuce and Asian greens like bok choy have been pretty good.

Bok choy: Day 1

Bok choy: Day 1

 

Bok choy: Day 5

Bok choy: Day 5

 

Bok choy: Day 10

Bok choy: Day 10

 Here’s how to re-grow plants:
Let’s say you are using some shallots (spring onions). Instead of chopping them up entirely, leave an inch or two near the base (roots) intact.
Place this root end in a centimetre of water and keep your bowl in a sunny spot. My plants are on my kitchen window sill.
In a few days, new shoots will grow from the old vegetable. Magic!
The outer part of the vegetable will get yucky and mushy, but the new plant will spring to life from the centre.
Keep adding fresh water every couple of days.

My spring onions in various stages of regrowth

My spring onions in various stages of regrowth


Today I “transplanted” my bok choy and celery that have being growing for the past two weeks in water to some soil. For this, I reused some old tin cans by drilled holes at the bottom for drainage. (I also “prettified” the tins – couldn’t help myself!) Fingers crossed, they continue to grow.
Celery after 12 days of growing in water

Celery after 12 days of growing in water


Drill some holes in your cans for drainage

Drill some holes in your cans for drainage


Celery potted

Celery potted


Not a bad way to save a few bucks at the supermarket!

So tell me, have you got a green thumb? What plants do you find easy to grow? Do you have a veggie garden?

4 responses to “Plants that Re-grow

  1. Hey al, wow yr plants looks good. We tried out our thumbs green or otherwise I’m not sure….with planting an avocado using just the seed partially immersed in wAter and it’s now grown to a baby tree and replanted in a neighbours garden. I was growing basil n mint which met with a sad end with the arrival of the monsoons.lovely articles. I so look fwd to reading them

    Like

  2. I am looking forward to seeing how the celery continues. I had some success with this too but never got the long stalks. Just leaves. Then a friend told me you have to cover the stalks in a dark plastic sleeve so they keep growing up to get the stalks. What do you think?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sustainability House Day | liaisonwithalison·

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

