The Road Less Travelled

Those of you who know me personally will know that I don’t like to drive. I’ve had my Aussie licence for over a decade, but I finally got behind the wheel only last year. And don’t get me started on my aversion to freeways and motorways. They’re too scary!

So imagine my shock a few days ago…
I was taking the kids to a party and did not manage to get into the right lane. Before I knew it, I was on the freeway. With a white-knuckled grip and my face in full concentration, I drove us to our destination – a little bit shaky but a lot bit triumphant!

So today’s tip is to take the road less travelled – literally or figuratively speaking.
I was forced to do it and, once I conquered my fears, I was brimming with confidence.

You can do it literally like I was forced to do: Take a different route to school or work, find a new way to your supermarket, go on a bush walk, cycle instead of taking the car…
It makes you get out of “auto-pilot” and see your surroundings in a new light. You will be in the moment. And with that, you have experienced what all these new-age gurus are banging on about: mindfulness.

Or you can take the symbolic meaning of the phrase ‘to take the road less travelled’.
Do something that you wouldn’t ordinarily do – and see what happens! Take a chance and surprise yourself. Take a stand and support a cause you believe in. Do something different.

C1 and C2 walking hand-in-hand

C1 and C2 walking hand-in-hand

Travel back in time with these concluding lines of a poem we learnt at school:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.

The Road Not Taken – Robert Frost

So tell me, what have you tried to do differently recently? Do you walk as much as you used to or do you find yourself driving everywhere? And do you remember studying the poem above in school?

One response to “The Road Less Travelled

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

