Recipe: Healthy ‘Nutella’

Healthy Nutella
Caleb is a Nutella-holic.
Every morning, two seconds after he asks, “What’s for breakfast?” he tries his luck with, “Chocolate sandwich, please?”
I give in, oh, about once a week…

“Why do you even buy Nutella?!?” asks B, exasperated. Yes, yes, I know that Nutella is sugar masquerading as chocolate spread. The nutritional panel is proof enough – 54.4g of sugar in every 100g of Nutella!

So when I brought home Sarah Wilson’s I Quit Sugar from the library, I immediately zeroed in on the ‘Sugar-free Nut-ella’ recipe. No, I don’t even think I am capable of eliminating all sugar from my diet, but it’s good to have options. As usual, I tweaked her recipe a bit. I have listed her recipe first, followed by my revised version.

Nutella ingredients
Original ‘I Quit Sugar – Sugar-Free Nut-Ella’ recipe ingredients:
1 cup hazelnuts
125 mL coconut milk
80 mL rice malt syrup
1 tbsp macadamia oil
1/4 cup raw cacao powder
1 tbsp vanilla powder

My Healthy Choc-Hazelnut Spread recipe ingredients:
1 cup hazelnuts
100 mL milk
100 mL rice malt syrup*
2 tbsp coconut oil
1/4 cup raw cacao powder**
1/4 tsp salt

* Can use honey instead but remember that honey is much sweeter than rice malt syrup.
** Can use a good quality dark chocolate (melted) instead.

hazelnuts

Method:
While the original recipe says to oven-roast the hazelnuts, I used a frying pan to dry roast the hazelnuts for 3-5 minutes on low heat until the skins loosened. Make sure you shake the pan often so that the nuts don’t burn.
Rub off the skins in a clean tea towel. You don’t need to be too pedantic about this.
Grind the (cooled) nuts to a fine hazelnut meal (powder) in a food processor. Being the Indian that I am, I used my trusty Sumeet mixer-grinder! 😉

Sumeet
Add the rest of the ingredients and process until the mixture is smooth and creamy.
If you want a more runny consistency, add more milk. The coconut oil gives it a lovely coconutty flavour and I would imagine that coconut milk would enhance this even further.
Spoon into a clean air-tight jar and keep refrigerated. It should last for up to a month – if you manage to make it last that long!

Sugar free Nutella
The verdict? Caleb claims he’s eating this “healthy Nutella” just so that we finish it quickly and we can go back to eating “unhealthy Nutella”. I think he misses his sugar-hit. I, on the other hand, love the fact that it’s not sickly sweet and that you can whip up a batch in 15 minutes’ flat. Fingers crossed, the “healthy Nutella” grows on the family because I sure as hell am not going back to the store-bought version.

So tell me, what do you like on your toast? Are you a breakfast-eater or a breakfast-skipper?

4 responses to “Recipe: Healthy ‘Nutella’

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Chia Seeds Two Ways | liaisonwithalison·

  2. Hi Ally

    Made ‘your’ version of this last Thursday – it was GONE by Sunday morning. Ashwin really liked it. Making another batch today!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Recipe: Dessert Pizza | liaisonwithalison·

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

