Resfeber

Scenes from Central Park: Spring 2011


I’m going on a holiday next month to New York and Boston. No kids, no husband, no worries. I can’t wait!

When you think about it, there are heaps of words connected to travel: wanderlust, explore, journey, roam, sojourn, getaway, mini-break…
But I’ve chosen something you may not have heard of before.
Today’s word is Resfeber.
It’s Swedish and is pronounced “RACE-fay-ber”.

You know that restlessness you feel before your journey begins? That’s resfeber.
You know those mixed emotions of anxiety, adrenalin and anticipation that gurgle in the pit of your stomach? That’s resfeber.
You know know that giddy excitement when your bags are packed and you’re ready to go? That’s resfeber.
And guess what? It can actually manifest itself as a real illness! You can honestly get “travel fever”!

I ticked off all the “must-see, must-do” touristy things on my To-Do list the last time I was in NYC: I absorbed all the art and artefacts at every gallery and museum until my head exploded, I took the Staten Island ferry to wave to the Statute of Liberty, I visited Ground Zero, I was mesmerised by the bright lights of Times Square, I watched a show on Broadway (hello, Ricky Martin!)…


So this time, I just want to slow down and soak it all in.
I want to meander in and out of Manhattan’s arty avenues and slick streets.
I want to grab a bargain at the flea markets in Brooklyn.
I want to walk the High Line and get lost in Greenwich Village.
I want to watch the buskers on every street corner and subway stop.
I want to stare up high at the magnificent architecture until I get a crick in my neck.
I want to do a spot of “people watching” in Central Park and 5th Ave.

And the food. Oh, the food!
I want to savour devour all the NY staples: burgers and bagels, ginormous slices of pizza, banana pudding at Magnolia Bakery (much better than their cupcakes made famous by SATC, trust me!); pastrami on rye at Katz (remember Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally?), hot dogs from the food trucks…

So much to do, so much to see!

So tell me, do you love exploring a new place on your own? What’s your best travel tip when it comes to packing/ finding your way around/ beating jet-lag/ grabbing a bargain? Have you been to New York or Boston? Any suggestions for me?

7 responses to “Resfeber

  1. Hi Alison, Vanessa here, (wonder if you remember me – of Melissa and Vanessa frm school) and I like to read your childhood reflections, so detailed like it was only yesterday. Good to see that you post more words than pics. I browse the net rarely, but its nice to read about your adventures. Great kids, very close resemblance to the little Alison I remember.!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Vanessa! So great to hear from you. Can’t believe how many years have gone by since we were in Joseph’s together! I remember those times so fondly – those were the days! In fact, Melissa contacted me only recently. Hope all’s well with you. Keep in touch! Alison x

      Like

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

