Positive Plans

My Mizunos after a run

My Mizunos after a run

It’s funny where inspiration can strike.
I do my best thinking when I’m in the shower or out on my morning run. This morning, for instance, I was pounding the pavement when I realised that I haven’t made any New Year’s resolution in, well, years.

New Year’s resolutions are just not my thing. While I get the need to start afresh in a freshly minted year, I don’t care for the side servings of guilt and stress that resolutions bring to the table. More often than not, my resolution train has derailed two stations down the track… The pressure!

I now make what I call “POSITIVE PLANS”.
As the phrase implies, Positive Plans are all about doing something beneficial and enjoyable that adds meaning and direction to your life.

Unlike resolutions, there is no place for negativity or stress. The aim is to bring a soupçon of happiness into your life – or at least, a sliver of satisfaction. None of that “I’ve not managed to lose two kilos in two months so I might as well demolish that packet of Tim Tams”.

Here are two of my Positive Plans for 2015:

Playing “tourist” in my own town


I’m going to venture into a different Sydney suburb once a month – on my ownsome! I’ll first find out if it has any sites of historic or cultural significance (art gallery, museum, etc.). I’ll then much on a leisurely lunch at one of the local cafés and browse for a bargain at the shops there. So maybe a bowl of Vietnamese pho for lunch in Cabramatta in February followed by a trip to bohemian Marrickville in March…

Volunteering


There are heaps of organisations that depend on people like you and me to give of our time and talent. Choose something that aligns with your personality. For instance, if you’ve got a green thumb, help out at your local Bushcare regeneration centre. If you find children delightful, be a parent helper at your kids’ school. If you like the buzz of social events, volunteer at a fun run…

One Last Thing
Write down your Positive Plans and keep it in a safe spot – perhaps in the top drawer of your bedside table. Put a monthly or bi-monthly reminder on your phone so that you re-visit that slip of paper from time to time. You can then see if your Positive Plans have veered off course or if you’re on the right path.

So tell me, have you made any New Year’s resolutions? Where do you do your best thinking? What are you looking forward to this year?

3 responses to “Positive Plans

  1. This is a really lovely idea, Alison! I love the idea of volunteering too. There is no greater feeling than being able to give back.

    Like

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!