Beauty and the Beholder

Do not ask your children
to strive for extraordinary lives…
Help them instead to find the wonder
and the marvel of an ordinary life.
Show them the joy of tasting
tomatoes, apples and pears…
Show them the infinite pleasure
in the touch of a hand.
And make the ordinary come alive for them.
The extraordinary will take care of itself.”

― William Martin, The Parent’s Tao Te Ching: Ancient Advice for Modern Parents

The thing that always gets me when I go out for an early morning run?
Cobwebs. I run straight into them! All. The. Time.
The rain has been an unwelcome guest in Sydney since Australia Day.
She refused to get out of town even for the first day of school today. Which has been a great excuse to duck under the doona when my alarm jarred me from my cotton-cloud slumber.

But not today. This morning I told myself that running in the rain will be refreshing.
(It was – but I now have soggy shoes. And my glasses need wipers. Just saying.)

My Mizunos laced up, I hit the sodden streets.
And that’s when I spotted my first one. And then another. And another.
They literally stopped me in my tracks.
Stretching out in all their glory, as if to reward me for my efforts.
These gorgeous gossamery cobwebs made all the more exquisite thanks to the play between the sun and the rain. Every gauzy thread accentuated by glistening droplets of water.
Ethereal. Graceful. Delicate. Transient.
A blink-and-you’d-miss-them kind of beauty.
Wish I had my SLR – these iPhone pics don’t do them justice.

It got me thinking of how everyday objects can be elevated from the mundane to the magical when we see them in a whole new light. The ordinary becomes extra-ordinary when we appreciate the little things in life. I’m sure Nature puts on a spectacular show day-in, day-out. But we don’t turn up, choosing to close our eyes to the world around us.
If only we would stop to take a closer look.

american_beauty

To quote that segment from the movie American Beauty when Ricky Fitts says:

That’s the day I realized that there was this entire life behind things, and this incredibly benevolent force that wanted me to know there was no reason to be afraid, ever…
Sometimes there’s so much beauty in the world…
It’s like God’s looking right at you, just for a second, and if you’re careful… you can look right back.”
Jane Burnham: “And what do you see?”
Ricky Fitts: “Beauty.”

So here’s my two cents for today. Just as the tag-line of the movie says, Look Closer.

FUN FACT: Spider webs are harmless. A bit sticky though, because that’s how these spiders catch their prey. On the other hand, if you get bitten by a webless spider, get to a doctor, stat! These types of arachnids use venom to catch their prey.

So tell me, are you are ‘morning person’? Or an outdoorsy sort? Are you terrified of spiders or bugs of any kind? When was the last time Nature stopped you in your tracks?

4 responses to “Beauty and the Beholder

  1. Pingback: Beauty and the Beholder | liaisonwithalison·

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

