Recipe: Chia Pudding

chia puddingMy kids are mad over Masterchef Australia at the moment. All attempts at tucking into bed at 7:30pm are being met with:
“Can we please watch 10 minutes of Masterchef?”
Followed by: “Can we watch until the next ad break?”
And then by: “Just five minutes more? Pllllllease?”

What’s more, they’ve started critiquing and scoring everything I’ve been cooking!
So this morning, I placed these Chia Puddings in front of them for brekkie and preempted their strike.
“In the Rodericks’ kitchen, today’s mystery box breakfast challenge is…
… (suspenseful pause for effect)

…chia seeds!” I stated with a flourish.

[I’ll let you in on a secret: When I was little, I loathed slimy foods like brinjal (eggplant) and lady fingers (okra). I wouldn’t even try the eye-popping dessert falooda thanks to the sabja (basil seeds) in it. Naturally, my kids have inherited this oh-so-excellent trait of mine in spades.]

I plonked the chia puddings in front of C1 and C2 and waited.
And waited.
They both looked at the chia puddings and then at each other.
Eyebrow lifts and wrinkled noses followed.
“C’mon! Taste it,” prodded B, who was making quick work of his serve. “It’s like having dessert for breakfast.”

chia pudding 2

Just the jump-start they needed.
15 minutes later, the mason jars were wiped clean. In fact, I just managed to scrape together enough chia pudding for these photos.

The best part about this breakfast meal? No cooking required!

 

Here’s my Chia Pudding scorecard:
C1: 8/10: “I actually like eating these ‘frogs eggs’.”
C2: 73/4/10: “I think they look more like ‘frog poos’.”
B: 9/10: “If there’s any left over, I’ll eat it for breakfast tomorrow.”

Think I’ve just come out of that elimination challenge with my dignity intact.

A few tips about jam/ mason jars:
* I prefer to make individual servings in separate jam jars/ mason jars. Not to be all ‘hipster’, but more for portion control.
* Make sure your jars are clean and free from any strong food smells.
* I prefer the short, squat jam jars with broad mouths – your teaspoon won’t get lost in them!
* Also make sure the jars are big enough to accommodate the toppings you will add the next morning.

CHIA PUDDING RECIPE
To make Chia Pudding, here’s what you do before you go to sleep at night:
Put 2 tbsp chia seeds into each jam jar. I used white chia seeds, but you could also use black.
Pour 1/4 cup coconut milk plus 3/4 cup regular milk/almond milk/rice milk. You could stick with cow’s milk, but the coconut milk gives it an irresistible flavour.
Add 1 tbsp maple syrup or honey.
Also add 2-4 sliced dates (optional).

chia seeds

 

Screw the lid onto the jar and shake-shake-shake. The container – not you.
Refrigerate overnight.
The next morning, toast some chopped nuts and sprinkle them over the pudding (optional).
In the same pan, toast a handful of moist coconut flakes until they are golden brown and crispy. Do NOT omit this step! It takes the pudding to another level of coconutty heaven.

coconut flakes

 

To assemble:
Once you open your jam jar in the morning, you’ll notice that the chia seeds have swollen (with pride?) getting nice and plump overnight.
Slice half a banana on top of your chia pudding.
Then add the nuts.
Lastly, sprinkle and handful of toasted coconut flakes.
Dig in!

chia pudding with coconut

So tell me, what’s your take on all these superfoods like kale, chia seeds and goji berries? Are you a breakfast-eater or a breakfast-skipper? What do you like eating for breakfast and do you eat the same thing every morning? Is there any food you will never eat – ever?

8 responses to “Recipe: Chia Pudding

  1. YUM…. I too have developed a fondness for Chia seeds. Getting healthy in my old age 🙂
    good on you for introducing the kids to healthy options.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Alison, love your Chia pudding. Reminds me of my mother’s rice pudding growing up in a “chop and three veggies” British type household. Nowadays I mostly have quinoa for breakfast. It is a South American grain high in protein. It goes well with warm milk,yogurt,fruit,nuts and chia seeds sprinkled on top!

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes chia is bursting with omega 3 and 6 the antioxidants that keep your heart healthy. Not that your kids would be interested in that but they might wolf it down without noticing if it is sprinkled on top.

        Like

      • Yes, isn’t it amazing how the texture and shape changes once liquid is added to it? I will sprinkle it over their cereal tomorrow and see if they notice. Fingers crossed.

        Like

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

