Word for the Week: Clicktivism

Were you one of the many millions who “rainbowed” your Facebook profile pic when the US Supreme Court legalised gay marriages recently?

Facebook’s co-founder Mark Zuckerberg did it and the rest of the world followed suit. By just clicking on Facebook’s Celebrate Pride link, anybody could have a pretty rainbow profile pic. Too easy. And that’s exactly my point.

Facebook celebrate pride

My Facebook pic – if I had chosen to use the rainbow filter.

I chose not to change my Facebook photo. It’s not that I don’t support gay rights or marriage equality. I do.

I didn’t see the point. Australia is nowhere close to allowing marriage rights for the gay community. I felt that my rainbow Facebook image would be an example of mere clicktivism.

What is clicktivism? It’s when you use social media or any online platform to promote a cause. Friends – and strangers – ‘Like’ your status, your page, your charitable or social cause and it goes viral. Online, at least. What happens in reality might be totally different.

After all, you could be sitting on the couch, watching TV while scrolling through Facebook, absent-mindedly ‘liking’ photos, videos and funny memes. Then and there, with the mere click of your mouse or tap on your smartphone, you have become a digital activist. An ego-boost to give you the warm and fuzzies. Your online friend is happy; and you are happy that you have made him/her happy.

But does this really bring about the social change that the online campaign seeks? How many of us would actually walk the protest walk on polarising subjects like gay rights, immigration detainees, climate change, political unrest, etc.?

Clicktivism supporters argue that by clicking for a particular cause they are showing their solidarity and support for it. ‘Imagine how heartened your gay friends would have been on seeing that you (a straight person) changed your pic,’ they gush. Perhaps. But my gay friends don’t need me to click to know where I stand. Actions speak louder than ‘Like’ buttons.

Clicktivism Slacktivism

My criticism of clicktivism is that it often lacks that deeper level of engagement required to bring about social change. Let’s face it, social change requires money and time. So unless you’re willing to put your money where your mouth – and mouse – is, you could become a “slacktivist” – a person who doesn’t really help the movement and could even hamper it with your token gestures.

It’s not all doom and gloom. Remember the Arab spring uprising in Egypt in December 2010? That’s one example I can recall when clicktivism really made a difference. Or how about when you support a charity by donating funds to it online?

So the next time you feel pressurised to ‘Like’ something on social media, ask yourself this: Are you clicking on a post to feel nice about yourself? Are you afraid of being stigmatised and judged if you don’t?

My suggestion would be to stick to a few causes you feel strongly about and really do your bit for these select few. Online and offline.

Where do you stand on the issue of clicktivism? Did you change your Facebook profile photo? If so, what were your reasons?

6 responses to “Word for the Week: Clicktivism

  1. Another great article Alison. I agree 100%. It is too easy these days to ‘click’ and offer support but these same people shy away from the topic if they have to stick their necks out and actually ‘do’ something. Glad there is another soul who has the same views 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Noeline. Was I too negative? I guess good can come out of spreading messages on social media. I guess if even one out of your 100 followers does something about it, it’s a win?

      Like

  2. Proud ‘clicktavist’ and activist here Al. I’ve been lucky in the work I do to use social media to support LGBTI & share the message of diversity, inclusion & respect for all. So, I added the rainbow filter to both my Facebook profile & also the Facebook profile of the brand I work for. Have a read of the corresponding comments there, it’s the reason why the more people that make public statements of support for equality is important. For my LGBTI friends, they shared how much it meant to them to see the rainbow filter on the Facebook profile of their friends & family (and company they worked for). They said it made them feel supported & ‘not alone’ in their fight for marriage equality. If ‘clicktavism’ can do that, if people (many who have conservative friends/family on their Facebook) can publicly show support, then that’s the start of change…

    Like

  3. I am behind clicktivism! I don’t see any harm in doing it (and my facebook pic has a rainbow tint to it). Just because you do this doesn’t actually mean that that is the only way you show support. You can engage in a deeper level too, the two aren’t mutually exclusive.

    It can also encourage discussion and debate and it can also let people know where you stand. I’ve had friends find out that acquaintances that were racist/sexist etc through them promoting causes. A lot of our facebook “friends” we don’t know very well so I don’t see why that’s a bad thing to know more about where they stand.

    I really don’t see why it has to be looked upon negatively. People expressing themselves is a good thing no? 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: peterrankkoo·

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!

