Add a Pop of COLOUR

C1 and C2 with their "wave" of colours

C1 and C2 with their “wave” of colours

Every time I venture into the city, I’m always engulfed in a sea of black. Men in black business suits taking on their phones. Women in black winter coats hurrying to meetings, their black stilettos clickety-clacking on the city streets.

I know what you’re going to say: Black looks professional! Black is slimming!
Well, black is also BORING!

So instead of play-it-safe neutrals, inject pops of colour into your life. It’s uplifting. It’s invigorating. It’s fresh. It can take you from drab to feeling fab!
A bold shade of lippy. Bright cushions on your sofa. A bowl of fruit salad. A colourful scarf. Fresh flowers on the dining table…
I tend to choose jewel tones – emerald greens, turquoise blues, ruby reds and deep purples.

Those who know about colour therapy swear by the positive effects colours can have on your psyche. It’s simple, really.

White = purity             

Yellow = warmth

Green = balance

Blue = calm

Red = energy

Pops of Poppies: I *heart* Marimekko's Unikko print

Pops of Poppies: I *heart* Marimekko’s Unikko print

Right now, I’m totally into Marimekko. Its Unniko print has been around for 50 years and small wonder – it’s so bright and cheerful, you’ve got to love it!

Do you stick to neutrals when it comes to your wardrobe?  What colours do you gravitate towards and why?

2 responses to “Add a Pop of COLOUR

  1. Have made a conscious effort to only buy colourful pieces of clothing as it’s so uplifting. If you’re feeling down, pop on a bright colour and some funky earrings and you feel better. I agree – black is boring!

    Like

I would love to hear from you, so please leave a reply!